Overview Rapid Prototypes from different materials and processes

Rapid Prototyping and Prototype construction

Extremely agile and flexible intervention right from the start

Short time-to-market

Rapid prototyping allows design errors to be detected at an early stage. The development time and thus the time-to-market are shortened, the design and product quality is improved and your flexibility increases.

Experience in additive manufacturing

Take advantage of our experience and versatility in the various additive manufacturing processes! Depending on the application, surface finish, accuracy, quantity, or material, we determine the appropriate 3D printing process.
Whether illustrative models, prototypes for functional testing, pilot series or exclusive small series for field tests – we support you in the development process and manufacture prototypes according to 3D data sets: quickly, cost-effectively and in line with your requirements.

The findings from the tests and pilot series are integrated directly into the development and the subsequent tool making. This in turn guarantees a short time-to-market and massively reduces costs.

Our 3D Printing Rapid Prototyping Processes

SLA Process – High precision design and functional models

The additive manufacturing process SLA uses a liquid starting material (resin) which is solidified by irradiation with laser light. The prototypes have high accuracy, detail resolution, and a smooth surface. This makes them suitable for function and fit tests, and when design is the primary consideration. The process requires support structures and is more expensive and slower compared to the SLS process.

SLS Process – Complex and yet extremely fast

The SLS rapid prototyping process uses a powdered starting material (plastic, wax, sand) and builds the desired shape by fusion. In this process, the laser is activated at the desired location, thus melting the starting material and re-solidifying it by cooling. Since no support structures are required, very complex shapes can be printed. SLS is cost-effective and suitable for prototypes, functional tests, and pilot series. The material properties are strong and light, but the surface is rough and exact tolerances cannot be achieved.

FFF/FDM Process – For early functional testing

In the FFF/FDM 3D printing process, a solid filament (ABS, PLS, PETG, etc.) is used as the starting material, which is melted in the print head and then is built up in liquid form, layer by layer, to form the desired part in the printing chamber. The method is suitable for early functional tests that are to be produced cheaply and quickly. The surface is coarse (stair effect) and, unlike SLS, needs a support structure depending on the shape.

Vacuum casting plastic – For low cost pilot series

The housings made by the vacuum casting process are mechanically and visually very similar to the series parts from the injection moulding process and are thus suitable for functional testing, pilot productions, and visual testing. As a rule, this process is more efficient than 3D printing or CNC milling as from about 7 parts. Prototypes and series parts up to about 100 pieces can be produced cost-effectively before the silicone mould reaches the end of its life.

MLS Process – Metal prototypes with laser sintering technology

A thin layer of metal powder is selectively melted by a laser, building up the mould layer by layer. Through metal laser sintering, shapes can be achieved which, in contrast to milling from solid material, have more complex structures. The higher strength makes the 3D printing process suitable for prototypes with higher quality requirements or small series.

Milling and turning of aluminium solid material

As an alternative to metal laser sintering (MLS) in the case of die-cast aluminium housings, it is possible to mill the housing prototypes from solid aluminium for field tests or pilot series. For this purpose we have a large machine park. This process has the advantage over MLS of achieving high tolerances and fine surfaces. It is also faster and cheaper.  The material properties are close to the series product.

What customers say about us

Success Stories

Injection molded plastic part with electronics for an IoT button

IoT Button Injection Molding

Development and production of a housing for an IoT button using plastic injection moulding. From design, electronics assembly to delivery in the final packaging.

Read more

Plastic injection molding post office order pen

Mail order pen

A LoRaWANⓇ-based smart button in plastic injection molding. Electronic developed by Miromico together with Swiss Post, with an optical identification code (OID codes).

Read more

SETAGO pick to light system made of sensors in plastic injection molding and control system in aluminum extrusion process

Housing plastic injection

Sensor electronics and LED built into a compact injection-molded plastic housing with translucent plastic front. Control in an extruded aluminium profile.

Read more

Send us a sketch or STEP file for a price enquiry.

Picture Mihajlo Maksimovic

Mihajlo Maksimovic

Project Manager

Tel. +41 52 742 75 13
Mail mihajlo.maksimovic@phoenix-mecano.ch

Übersicht Prototypen aus verschiedenen Materialien

Prototypenbau

Extrem agiles und flexibles Eingreifen – schon von Beginn an

Durch Rapid-Prototyping können Konstruktionsfehler frühzeitig erkannt werden. Die Entwicklungszeit und somit die Time-to-Market verkürzt sich, die Design- und Produktqualität wird verbessert und Ihre Flexibilität nimmt zu.

Machen Sie sich unsere Erfahrung und Vielseitigkeit der verschiedenen Additiven Fertigungsverfahren zum Vorteil! Je nach Anwendung, Oberflächenbeschaffenheit, Genauigkeit, Menge, oder Material bestimmen wir das geeignete 3D Druckverfahren.
Ob Anschauungsmodelle, Prototypen für die Funktionserprobung, Nullserien oder exklusive Kleinserien für Feldtests – wir unterstützen Sie im Entwicklungsprozess und fertigen Prototypen nach 3D-Datensätzen: schnell, kostengünstig und bedarfsgerecht.

Die Erkenntnisse aus den Tests und Vorserien fliessen direkt in die Entwicklung und den späteren Werkzeugbau mit ein. Das wiederum garantiert eine kurze Time-to-Market und senkt die Kosten massiv.

Unsere 3D-Druckverfahren

Hochpräzise Design- und Funktionsmodelle

Das Additive Fertigungsverfahren SLA nutzt ein flüssiges Ausgangsmaterial (Harz) welches durch Bestrahlung mit Laserlicht verfestigt wird. Die Prototypen besitzen eine hohe Genauigkeit, Detailauflösung und eine glatte Oberfläche. Dadurch eignen sie sich für Funktions- und Passtests und wenn das Design im Vordergrund steht. Das Verfahren benötigt Stützstrukturen und ist im Verhältnis zum SLS Verfahren teurer und langsamer.

Komplex und trotzdem extrem schnell

Das Rapid-Prototyping-Verfahren SLS nutzt ein puderförmiges Ausgangsmaterial (Kunststoff, Wachs, Sand) und baut die gewünschte Form mittels Verschmelzen auf. Dabei wird der Laser an der gewünschten Stelle aktiviert und so das Ausgangsmaterial geschmolzen und durch Abkühlen wieder verfestigt. Da keine Stützstrukturen benötigt werden, können sehr komplexe Formen gedruckt werden. SLS ist kostengünstig und eignet sich für Prototypen, Funktionstests und Vorserien. Die Materialeigenschaften sind fest und leicht, jedoch ist die Oberfläche rau und es sind keine genauen Toleranzen zu erreichen.

Für frühe Funktionstests

Beim FFF/FDM 3D-Druckverfahren wird als Ausgangsstoff ein festes Filament genutzt (ABS, PLS, PETG etc.) welches im Druckkopf geschmolzen und danach flüssig Schicht für Schicht das gewünschte Teil im Druckraum aufbaut. Das Verfahren eignet sich für frühe Funktionstests, die günstig und schnell hergestellt werden sollen. Die Oberfläche ist grob (Treppeneffekt) und braucht, im Gegensatz zu SLS, je nach Form eine Stützstruktur.

Für kostengünstige Vorserien

Die Gehäuse durch das Vakuumgiessverfahren sind mechanisch und optisch den Serienteilen aus dem Spritzgussverfahren sehr ähnlich und eignen sich dadurch für Funktionstest, Vorserien und visuelle Prüfungen. In der Regel ist dieses Verfahren ab ca. 7 Teilen effizienter als der 3D-Druck oder CNC-Fräsen. Es können kostengünstig Prototypen und Serienteile bis etwa 100 Stück produziert werden, bevor die Silikonform an ihr Lebensende kommt.

Metall-Prototypen mit Lasersinter-Technologie

Eine dünne Schicht Metallpulver wird von einem Laser selektiv geschmolzen und die Form so Schicht für Schicht aufgebaut. Durch das Metall-Lasersintern können Formen erreicht werden die, im Gegensatz zum Fräsen aus Vollmaterial, komplexere Strukturen aufweisen. Durch die höhere Festigkeit eignet sich das 3D-Druckverfahren für Prototypen mit höheren Qualitätsansprüchen oder Kleinserien.

Fräsen und Drehen aus Aluminium Vollmaterial

Alternativ zum Metall Lasersintern (MLS) besteht bei Gehäusen aus Aluminiumdruckguss die Möglichkeit, die Gehäuseprototpyen für Feldtests oder Vorserien aus Aluminium Vollmaterial zu fräsen. Dazu verfügen wir über einen grossen Maschinenpark. Dieses Verfahren hat den Vorteil gegenüber MLS, dass hohe Toleranzen und feine Oberflächen erreicht werden. Zudem ist es auch schneller und günstiger.  Die Materialeigenschaften liegen nahe am Serienprodukt.

Success Stories

Bestellstift der Post im Kunststoffspritzgussverfahren

Post Bestellstift

Ein von Miromico zusammen mit der Schweizerischen Post entwickelter LoRaWANⓇ-basierter Smart Button, mit einem optischen Identifikationscode (OID-Codes).

Mehr erfahren

SETAGO Pick to Light Set aus Sensoren im Kunststoffspritzguss- und Steuerung im Aluminium Strangpressprofilverfahren

SETAGO Pick to Light

Montageleitsystem welches den Mitarbeiter Schritt für Schritt durch den Montageprozess führt. Montagezeit wird reduziert und Prozesssicherheit erhöht.

Mehr erfahren

CycleCounter aus einem flachen Kunststoffprofilgehäuse welcher auf Fenster oder Türrahmen geklebt wird

Kunststoff Extrusionsverfahren

Eine IoT-Sensorik wird in ein 3mm hohes extrudiertes Kunststoffprofil eingeschoben. Abgeschlossen wird das Profil mit zwei einschnappbaren Endkappen im Kunststoffspritzguss.

Mehr erfahren

Jetzt Daten hochladen und
Preis anfragen.

Mihajlo Maksimovic

Projektleiter

Tel. +41 52 742 75 13
Mail mihajlo.maksimovic@phoenix-mecano.ch



Dateien hochladen (max. 12 MB / mehrere Dateien als ZIP zusammenfassen) (*.stp, *.dxf, *.pdf, *.jpg, *.png, *.docx *.zip)